CloudHead

December '23 Recap

A Happy New Year. Crazy that this is already the last newsletter of 2023 or the first of 2024 depending on how you look at it. This newsletter hasn’t gained the traction that I hoped for. However, looking back, my Instagram account was dead in its early years, and my YouTube channel didn’t gain much views until my recent videos. The last one even got 10 000 views within a week and a half. Given these prior experiences, I will continue this newsletter for another year and see if and how it evolves.

Thanks for reading

Giel Sweertvaegher

Last month’s work

🆕 New video on Youtube: behind the scenes of the warbird project.

🆒 My favorite Instagram posts I made this month: Pilatus Porter passing Mount Baker.

⬇️ My worst performing Instagram post: view from the Getty Center.

⬆️My best performing Instagram post: everybody loves the Comet Racer.

Behind the Scenes

📹Behind-the-scenes video

I published my first behind-the-scenes video, and it turned out to be much more challenging to create than I had anticipated. Throughout the whole process, it felt awkward. Initially, I expected around a hundred views, some dislikes and some comments pointing out the cringiness. However, it became my best performing YouTube video, getting over 10 000 views in just 10 days. It got a very high like/dislike ratio and plenty of positive comments both on Youtube and sent privately. I don’t see how this could have gone better. It also motivates me to keep making these although it will be difficult to make videos with the limited available footage of the other projects. In 2024 I’ll definitely be focussing on making more footage with behind-the-scenes videos in mind.


📆 2024 plans

At the end of one year and the beginning of another it’s time to both look back and forward. 2023 didn’t lead me precisely where I wanted to be, but it brought progress and I had a great deal of fun along the way. Also, after a year of stagnant growth and declining engagement, my Instagram is slowly getting back to life. Also, the succes of my latest video on YouTube has shown me that focussing on video alongside my photography might be an interesting way to share my photos and passion.

For 2024 I’ll keep on working on the same things and I’ll be doing some interesting projects. In April I’ll be in Florida for Sun ‘n Fun, followed by a trip to the UK in July for more Warbirds and the RIAT project. Unfortunately my plans for Canada in August will not happen, unless something changes last minute. However, at the end of the month I’ll be spending 10 days in Madeira to do some non-aviation travel and photography. I hope some more surprises pop up along the road.

Worth Sharing

✈️

🎥

  • I’ve been enjoying these short videos by Phil Penman on how he makes his beautiful black and white photos.

🎨

Connect

  • I would appreciate your feedback on this newsletter, so please feel free to share your suggestions for future editions with me.

  • Have something noteworthy that you’d like to share? Submit here.