CloudHead

January '24 Recap

Thank you for checking out this January recap. You might notice a few changes in the design, and I plan to make more adjustments in future editions. I've treated this newsletter as an afterthought over the past year, and it didn't get the interaction I was hoping for. This year, I will try to gradually build on what I have. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to send me an email. As I am figuring out the direction of this newsletter, I'll be keeping this one short.

Thanks for reading

Giel Sweertvaegher

Last month’s work

🆕on YouTube

🆒 My favorite Instagram post this month

⬇️ My worst performing Instagram post

⬆️My best performing Instagram post

Behind the Scenes

Throughout most of the month I have been busy making the next behind-the-scenes video about the air-to-air flights with the Aviation PhotoCrew at RIAT. Despite working with limited footage, I tried to take the feedback from the first video at heart. You can watch it here, or catch the premiere on February 1st if you're early with reading this email.

You can expect the next behind-the-scenes video around May. It will show the flights we did in Canada for the Abbotsford show. With a larger pool of footage to work with, I will try to provide a more comprehensive look at our flight planning process.

But before that, I'll be working on a travel video about my brief trip to Berlin last July. Though I can’t remember what I filmed at this point, I'm confident I’ll be able to work something out.

Photography took a bit of a back seat this month, but I did manage to add a two-day trip to Italy in April to this year's list of trips. While not aviation-related, I'm excited to get back into photography. To keep myself engaged, I'm thinking about starting a side photography project. Inspired by a collection of Harry Gruyaert's photos featuring cars, I'm considering a similar series with airplanes—making photos where planes are not the primary focus or are seemingly out of context. It's an idea in progress, and I still have to make the first photo.

Worth Sharing

✈️

🏎️

  • I need to shoot bikes again. This set by Andrea Casano is good inspiration.

  • That early 2000 F1 sound...

  • Talk about an impressive barn find.

📷

📽️

  • Finally watched season one of ‘Only Murders in the Building’ and it’s been a while since I saw something this well made. The setting, music, acting, humor and how things are visualized.

  • I’m also rewatching Breaking Bad. I’m currently in season 2 and I now know again why I have been calling this the best series I’ve ever seen.

Connect

  • I would appreciate your feedback on this newsletter, so please feel free to share your suggestions for future editions with me.

  • Have something noteworthy that you’d like to share? Submit here.